Connect with us



Samuel Kamugisha

Junior Local Government Minister Jennifer Namuyangu has told mayors Parliament was responsible for the delayed operationalization of at least 15 municipalities to city status. Addressing a meeting of district chairpersons and mayors of municipal councils gathered at Hotel Africana on Friday, Namuyangu, who represented his senior Raphael Magyezi, reminded the local leaders that voting on the creation of new cities had been postponed due to lack of quorum in Parliament.

DC Bamwine and PS Kumumanya

“It is not a simple issue. It has been on the order paper but we have failed to get the required quorum,” Namuyangu told local government leaders after some mayors from the municipalities lined up for elevation complained. She then pleaded with them to give government more time to mobilize MPs to pass the creation of the new administrative units.

Commissioner Anthony Namara, formerly of Immigration, is these days a big man in the Local Government Ministry

“Give us more time to mobilize support so that when the motion comes up, we will have positive results.” The minister further reminded the local leaders that seven of the 15 new cities would be functional by July 2020 while the rest would become operational over the following three years until 2023.

From which district do people who relax like this during public meetings come?

She dismissed reports that the operationalization of the cities had been delayed due to lack of funds. “The money for the cities had been put in the budget but was used for other things after the delay. It’s not true that there was no money.”

In December 2019, Deputy Speaker of Parliament Jacob Oulanyah deferred voting on the proposed cities after the House failed to meet the required number of 231 MPs of the over 420 representatives. MPs’ absenteeism has remained a challenge in the ninth Parliament, and is expected to worsen this year as legislators spend more time in their constituencies wooing the electorate to vote them back to the House in the 2021 parliamentary elections.

Some of the municipalities Parliament will be voting on if the House garners the required quorum are Arua, Gulu, Jinja, Mbarara, Fort Portal and Mbale. Others are Masaka, Hoima, Entebbe, Lira, Soroti, and Wakiso.

Kumumanya reaches out to one of the leaders 

A participant speaks at the event 

DC Bamwine having something to say 

Having overcome the Immigration Fiasco, Commissioner Anthony Namara has found peace at MoLG 

He was very forceful in the way he made his point 

Local government Ministry’s Yasiin Sendawula chats with colleagues 

Mityana LC5 boss Joseph Luzige must be continuing to heal from the emotional wounds suffered when his nemesis Nabakooba became Minister 

Mukono Mayor George Kagimu engages a mystery babe during the meeting 

Queens Nyabinghi Ltd’s Abdella Meklit chats with friends at the meeting 

Queens Nyabinghi Ltd’s Abdella submits 

PS Kumumanya with one of the LC5 bosses 

Some of the big men at the meeting 

Some of the LGs officials at the meeting 

The Baganda say kumbaga tekubula musiwufu. It was an opportunity for some to catch up on lost sleep  

There was plenty of contemplating too



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in NEWS