Connect with us



By Joel Mugabi

Deputy Speaker of Parliament Anita Among has announced a committee of legislators appointed to vet aspirants interested in representing Uganda in regional parliament East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

Uganda sends nine representatives to the regional Parliament, with the tenure of current MPs expected to expire in 2022.

At the moment, Uganda is expected to replace Mathias Kasamba, its MP who died months ago. Last week, the ruling NRM party chose former Kabula MP James Kakooza as its candidate to replace Kasamba. Voting by the whole House will happen on Monday next week. Nominations for the seat are scheduled for July 21 and 22, with a nomination form costing Shs3m.

Now, ahead of Monday’s vote, Deputy Speaker Among has picked West Budama North East MP Fox Odoi to chair a committee that will vet aspirants for the EALA seat. Others on the committee are: Enos Asiimwe, Gyavira Ssemwanga, Laker Balmoyi, Wilson Kajwengye, Sylvia Nayebale, Boniface Okot, Yusuf Mutembuli, Isaac Sejjoba, Rose Obiga and Hillary Lokwang.

There is also Teddy Namboze, Muwanga Kivumbi, Joan Alobo, Peter Okot, Asuman Basalirwa, Joseph Koluo, Prof Elijah Dickens Mushemeza and Linda Auma.

(For comments on this story, call, text or whatsapp us on 0705579994, 0779411734, 0200900416 or email us at 







Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in NEWS